Homelabs, and Distros, and Hardware, Oh My!

Hey all!

It’s me, again, making yet another topic. This time in regards to homelabbing, Linux, and a few projects I have in mind. This post is mainly to reach out to the community to see what suggestions you all have for me.

Scenario: I’m tearing down my existing gaming PC build and moving over to an older generation gaming console (in this case most likely an Xbox 360). When I say “tearing down” I mean I’m removing the dead GPU and setting up a server of sorts. I work in IT and I find myself wanting to do a lot more projects and whatnot, more than PC gaming. I love Linux, and would run it on my laptop if it wasn’t for me owning a MacBook Pro, I digress, but would love to run it on my soon-to-be server.

Specs:
i7-4790k processor
12 GB of RAM
256 GB SSD
1 TB HDD (media storage)
H81M-P33 motherboard

I know that for the most part, the most important thing to have running is Plex or Emby, but I don’t really know beyond that. I want to start messing with DevOps stuff, Cybersecurity, etc., but not sure how to start. Seeing as how I only have two HDDs, one of which being the storage drive, that really limits what I can do. I would really like to know if I should even attempt to run a hypervisor, or if I just need to stick with centOS (or some other recommendation) for running any other containers, etc.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or advice you can all give me and have a good day/night/etc.

2 Likes

I would just get everything you initially want set up, then move on from there.

Maybe get into self hosting stuff, as that can be a way to learn more. Like pick something from this list, figure out how to install it, configure it, secure it, back it up and update it. Then build it from source yourself, then automate building it with a self-hosted CI server, which then you need to learn how to install, configure, use, secure and update.

Also, if you want cheap storage, and live in the US, check these out-