Home Server

Hello everyone,
I want to build a home server and have researched a bit and have come to the conclusion that, one I don’t know enough about server stuff and two that I still want to build one but have some requirements that I think are a good idea. I want to build a home server that is a NAS, plex or some other media application, snapshots (I have never used them before but it would be great to enable my families computers and my computers to create backups for future issues, possibly some VM stuff or other interesting stuff I may learn in the future (mainly headroom for a little growth).
I don’t really know what hardware to go with. I would preferably like something that isn’t too power hungry, I am thinking of getting 6 4TB hard drives as my budget doesn’t allow for 8 TB hard drives yet and ECC memory. I think I would need an HBA card as it seems they are preferred over motherboard SATA controllers, and possibly a NIC card. I would like a small footprint and have a Lian Li PCQ08 from way back. However, it seems to be more difficult to go with a Mini ITX build and there is less room for growth. I am thinking of possibly getting a Fractal Design Define R6. Lots of room for consideration and I am just overwhelmed at this point.

I am trying to learn linux as well and have been reading books and going through Wendell’s course on Udemy. I was thinking Ubuntu Server with ZFS or something similar. Any recommendations or tutorials I should look into would be greatly appreciated. I have been searching the web and my ADD has made this even more difficult with the endless blackhole of information pouring out.

Before spending a huge pile of money on drives, you might want to start small with just two and a boot drive. I really like a small 250 GB M.2 for the OS.