Home Server Build

Hi, not sure whether this should be in Networking or Hardware / Build…
I’m looking to upgrade my server game… (I’m an amateur with a questionable set up at best).

The current setup is a prebuilt Dell PowerEdge T130 and a Thecus W5810; these are both running Windows Server 2016 with AD DS, DHCP, and DNS on the Dell… they are somewhat linked, and the setup is based around my interpretation of a set of Server 2012 videos by ‘Eli the computer guy’.

The Thecus was bought to be my home server (additional RAM installed and now on Server 2016), but when finally getting Solidworks PDM ironed out with my reseller, it would have been an ‘unsupported’ setup, so I ended up getting the Dell specifically to run PDM in a ‘supported’ config.
As it stands, the Dell is running Solidworks PDM, and the Thecus is essentially wasting electricity :-/
I also have an old Synology NAS and a very old PC running as my PFSense firewall.

I am looking to have a single box (possibly TrueNAS?) that would be able to look after network storage, backups, some home media / plex, maybe the firewall, and possibly Solidworks PDM… although PDM would need a discussion with SW to see how that could be done in a ‘supported’ config (or that may have to remain on the Dell and be linked in somehow). I’m also thinking of reusing part of the current setup as a secondary box to store less frequent backups of the important stuff on the main server.

While I may / may not be able to get through the software side with minimal help, I think the first thing is getting the hardware in place and then trialling things, but I’m not sure where to start on that.

• The budget is somewhat uncapped – I don’t want to lose a kidney or anything, but I’d rather buy something slightly overpowered than something that barely meets my needs.
  • I live in the UK (£)
  • I think I’ve got the peripherals needed (well, a monitor, keyboard, and mouse). But, the network is currently unmanaged gigabit switches.