Hiring a web developer

I am basically looking at what it would cost to hire a web developer, so that I can start to create a budget for a site.

I have never done this, and I am completely new to this, so I am not sure what information you would need to give an answer. So please ask, and I will do my best to give you a response.

So being completely honest, it comes down to the website.

I can help you. But usually a general outline would be good. Freelance can cost but some of us web developers like,I, tend to just do a start deposit and if its not a 2 month+ project, take another payment at the end.

Some more information is required!

What kind of website are you interested in? Something like a portfolio, online business card, eCommerce, blog, etc. How many pages? Do you want an original design, logo, etc? Do you want a static site or a content management system?

If you'd like to discuss money or anything in private, feel free to send me a private message.

I am proficient in HTML, CSS, PHP, mysql, and can do SOME javascript. I understand that PHP is largely not used for modern web development, however it is still completely viable. Here is an example of my personal site, built entirely on PHP. www.debateslate.net it's stil in development, as I haven't had much time to work on it lately. Please post some more details. I'd be happy to do some work for a very low price, as I am not a professional. If it is not terribly in depth, I should no far more than needed to complete your project. I'd love t know more about this project.

@Devon - How much would you charge to create a website that is interactive (JavaScript, flash) and has a payment system built in? (Estimate of course:))

@Zim - I am looking for a website, capable of running an online business.

@Bmckalip - Not quite the style I was looking for, for interactive. So probably JavaScript and Flash.