High quality storage?

Hi,
I always had normal HDD's but now I need good Storage to save my work properly .
Problem is I don't even know how such pro HDD's are called. I have no idea.

So the Storage should work in a normal self built Computer (Asus consumerboard, Xeon, ... . And it should be understood by Windows and Linux (Mint 18.1) , because I dual boot.
It should be around 2-4 TB and between 100-200$ if possible.
Very important to me is that it has a long lifespan and doesn't make errors if possible.

I'm a total noob on this so every information on this topic is much appreciated.

Mirrored hard drives and a backup drive. Triple redundancy.

8 Likes

I second the HGST notion. I have 2 4TB HGST in my NAS.

2 Likes

I run them in my servers.
Actually, I should probably cycle them out.

2 Likes

SAS (Serial Attached SCSI) drives and controllers are used as a more professional storage without going into more sophisticated hardware. I think it is beyond your budget for capacity requirements - but it also does not sound that you necessary need to go this way.

Very important to me is that it has a long lifespan and doesn't make errors if possible.

I see that others already answer you with good brand names for normal (SATA )HDDs.
However I would like to point one thing about errors - if that aspect is really important for you then remember that content written into the HDD is at most as good as it was in memory - thus in cases where that really matters ECC memory is recommended. But since you listed already Xeon processor then I assume you also have ECC memory?

1 Like
3 Likes

Thx a lot guys,
this helped me to get started and to look in the right direction.

Yes ECC memory is on board.

I learned a lot from your explanations, thank you.