Hidden dangers of crypto-mining / Is it worth to get into mining?

TLDR: Are you aware of any dangers that could make mining unprofitable in the near future? Post them here!

Long version: Crypto mining is more risky than many newbs realize. Most obviously the currency's price could crash, but there's a lot more to it. Things that come to mind:

• Etherium is going to switch away from their current system to proof-of-stake at some point, eliminating the need for mining in the process. (https://github.com/ethereum/wiki/wiki/Proof-of-Stake-FAQ)
  • Etherium's memory requirements are rising. Buying a GPU with too litlle VRAM might render it useless soon.

Do you know of any other things to be aware of? Does payout change over time? Let's make this a comprehensive list.

1 Like

As per link above Etherium Bubble im wading in for the first time the last few days. Please chime in as it is new and interesting to me.

To be honest I'm not an expert on any financial or crypto-finantial matters. But one thing I wonder:

One of scenarios ppl are doing while mining at home is to mine any cryptocurrency and sell it for BTC.
That builds demand for BTC - rises its price. So basically every one that does that scenario contributes to the BTC bubble and in the end if everything you mine is converted to BTC, and you keep it as BTC, you actually might not profit as much as you think (that ofc. will depend on the future BTC price and stability).

There is ofc. other side to the same scenario. If you always sell BTC right away, then you might not get any additional benefits from its price rising.

That's why I always sell my BTC immediately unless the price is too low.

I've read up on the mining difficulty - turns out me previous understanding was wrong. Basically the higher the network's hashing power the lower the payouts. Take that into consideration.