#helpdesk Ubuntu 18.04 gnome issues thinking of switching DE

#helpdesk
Hey everyone this is kinda of a continuation of Gnome desktop no longer working

1.I don’t know if I should of just updated that one I’m kinda new to using forms for getting help so sorry if did it wrong.

1. Anyway so my issues with gnome have gotten worse to the point where it is unusable so I was thinking 9f switching to another DE. I want to stay on Ubuntu as that’s what I am most familiar with and has the most support ( which apparently I definitely need) , but I have heard it’s generally not recommended to change your DE on an existing install.

3.Should I do a clean install of Ubuntu? Is there a version of Ubuntu with deppin as default?

4.Also I was watching a tutorial on YouTube to do this and I saw you get to choose between lightdm and gdm which should I use? I like eye candy effect so is compiz supported?

1. Lastly what I’ll miss most from gnome is the extension specifically gsconect to get notifications from my phone.

6.Sorry for so many questions it’s just I’m kinda of at a lost of what I should do. If anyone as any recomindations please let me know I am open to trying other distribution and DE to I just choose Ubuntu with deppin because to me it has the most support and deepin looks nice😅

You could try KDE / Kubuntu: KDE connect does a good job with phone notifications.

What problems are you having with GNOME, could help us advise another DE.

The problem I have with gnome is that I login and am sometimes I will get an indefinite black screen. Sometimes it will just randomly crash. Othertimes it I will be able to login but I can’t click on anything the mouse moves but I can’t click on anything and have to navigate with my keyboard. There have been others who apparently have had issues with gnome. See https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/gnome-settings-daemon/+bug/1764417