Help with removing decrypted partitions on two HDD's

Hey all,

I have this problem, which I have never done before, cause this particular problem lies with some old tech, I've searched the web about this but no methods work such as booting into gparted.

I have two drives that have encryption from toshiba, my investigation resulted into thinking that the drives are married with the hardware of the laptop that it derived in. If you connect it to anything other than the laptop that it's married too it will hide the partitions and your out of luck, they both function fine when i boot them in the laptop but another problem arises when no one knows the password. The story of the laptop from a friends parents request to gain access back into it, I didn't ask questions since they said they didn't care for the data on it, they just want to use it again.

Here are the hardware specs: (Pictures are low quality due to crappy interwebs)

HDD1

HDD2

LAPTOP

And yes, since this is really old, it has no warranty so I'm all ears at this point.

What OS are you trying to access them on?

I've tried gparted from bootable usb, opensuse 42, fedora 25 and windows 8.1.

Do them a favour and get them some SSD. It will make them happy because "the laptop feels like a new computer".

As for the HDDs: Tried DD?

Their not really going the "buy a new drive" route, I've actually tried that once I got stumped on getting the current drives in working order. So it's basically fix the drives or dump the whole thing altogether.

Not sure about dd, I wonder if it can see the partitions when gparted can't?

Well, try?

What does fdisk -l tell you?

I'm working on the results for you now, but from what I gather, dd is not the answer when detecting partitions.

EDIT:

fdisk -l

Disk /dev/mapper/luks-3f4b5694-d7f9-4ed7-be21-43902f49b921: 110.8 GiB, 118956752896 bytes, 232337408 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes