Help with an idea

How would I go about automating the process of adding words to a phones dictionary without manually adding them. Preferably it would be multiple words at once. I am new to coding and thought this would be a cool project to start off with in python.

I don’t actually know, but I would imagine that there is a file containing the predicted words.

Find that file and batch edit it, then put it back where you found it.

Are you going to write a new kb from scratch? I would think something simple like if a word isn’t in the dictionary and it gets used more than x times you automatically add it.

1 Like

I want to import a list of several words at once to prevent having to add them individually to the dictionary .

Learning to read from and write to files will solve this problem. One of the 5 “real” programming skills.

1 Like

Thanks. I am very wet behind the ears and find it easier to learn something when I have a project. Just watching tutorials doesnt help.

I’m on mobile, so this is going to suck, but I’ll expound upon it when I get behind a keyboard

The blunt, what no one wants to hear:

Programming is not magic. Neither is writing, public, speaking, lifting weights, drawing, or playing guitar. Some people have an aptitude for dexterity or logic, so they pick things up quicker than others, but at the end of the day, it’s practice.

Spend time reading, writing, writing about writing, thinking about writing, and then write some more. If you want to wail on the guitar like Zakk Wylde or Dimebag Darrell, you don’t start learning Joe Satriani or some crazy guitar solo, you start by learning “Eat All Day Get Big Easy”, then you learn how to fret open major chords, fret a barr chord, and strum a tune while changing chords.