Help troubleshooting home network issue

I have a device on my network on its own LAN. It is able to ping itself, but not able to ping 8.8.8.8. I have run traceroute on 8.8.8.8 and it is successful. I use pfSense and have this system setup as a DMZ with very limited access to the main LAN. I was wondering what commands would be best to figure out why this computer cannot access the internet. It is a nextcloud installation on a VM running Ubuntu 18.04 server. I am quite new to all this and I realize I haven’t provided enough information to troubleshoot. I would be happy to provide additional information as necessary. TIA.

It’s probably the firewall, can you take a screenshot of the DMZ rules?

if traceroute/ping is successful to 8.8.8.8, might it be a DNS issue?

If it isn’t, but one can get to the isolating switch (the router or whatever is being used to isolate the traffic), I’d propose it might be a forwarding issue when isolating the seperate nework, as you’d want all lan traffic isolated, but internet traffic routed/tunneled out ot the internet on a socket?

Or firewall blocking the web ports like @Dexter_Kane suggests. Forgot firewalls might allow icmp/ping traffic but block 80/web

So you said the problem system is a virtual machine?

First make sure that the VM host itself can communicate.

Check that the VM network type is correct for what your VM wanted. Nextcloud may need either firewall forwarding rules, or a “macvtap bridge” (if you’re using KVM) or maybe something even more exotic.

If it is using something weird for networking I’d recommend leaving it alone for now and testing another VM with something like a Ubuntu Live ISO, just to see if the default NAT virtual networking is OK.

If a second VM works OK then investigate the networking configuration of your Nextcloud VM.