Help me pickout a new laptop

Hi all, first time posting!

Background:

I am a Computer Science student (soon to be graduate) and my current E550 Thinkpad isn’t really cutting it anymore. The new Ryzen 4000 powered laptops intrigue me, specifically the T14 Thinkpads. But I would like opinions on other models and brands, and anything I should be aware of before jumping in.

Price Range:

I’d like to keep it between $1500 and $1800 USD. I am also more than willing to buy a lower specced version and upgrade it myself if that’s a more economical route.

Requirements:

• 8 or more threads

• 1080p or greater resolution

• 300 nits or brighter

• at least 8GB of RAM, with expand-ability options (I don’t care if one dimm is soldered, I would like an open slothowever)

• Non-Soldered NVME SSD (I know I’m gonna get gipped on these, so I’d like to be able to add my own drives)

• WIFI 6

• Ethernet Port

• Good Linux Compatibility

• Decent Battery Life ( >=8hrs)

Use Case:

I have a decently powerful desktop computer, so I am not looking for a desktop replacement. However, I am going to be doing a majority amount of my school work including coding, document writing, and video meetings, on this laptop. I don’'t need it for games or any other graphical intensive processes, and since this laptop is gonna be on Linux, not having any NVIDIA is probably a good thing in the long run. I will however need it to have my IDE, Discord, Spotify, and many tabs of Firefox all running without any real hiccups.

Thanks in advance for the help!

I am currently running a 3rd gen X1 Yoga that I love for what I do. Most of the work I do in on servers either through a web interface, SSH, or RDP so the local compute requirement is fairly low. I’m not sure how this fits with your workload. Currently you can pick them up on Lenovo’s website for just under $1k which is a steal in my opinion.