Help me decide how to provision some small on-prem infrastructure

Background

I’m at a small business that’s running off of a Windows Server 2016 tower that the boss put together (he even modified the case to fit two AIO watercoolers in). It’s got loads of random software running on it, it’s running out of storage space, Windows updates aren’t applying cleanly anymore, I don’t know much about Windows administration, and yes we had a ransomware attack. The boss is paranoid about the cloud but I convinced him to order two new rackmount machines and I’ll be migrating things over to some sort of Linux server infra. I’m a software dev so I have some knowledge of administration but not very deep. I don’t have much experience with all the various software options so it’s hard to evaluate which are best for our needs. Wanted to ask y’all what you think. (Also just writing it all out will be helpful anyway).

New Server Specs

Two identical servers. One is (offsite?) backup/spare/failover.

• Supermicro A+ Server 2014CS-TR - 2U - 12x SATA/SAS
  • AMD EPYC 7543P Processor 32-core 2.80GHz 256MB Cache (225W)
  • 8 x 32GB PC4-25600 3200MHz DDR4 ECC RDIMM
  • 2 x 800GB Micron 7300 MAX Series M.2 PCIe 3.0 x4 NVMe Solid State Drive (Boot drive, VMs and DBs)
  • 2 x 280GB Intel 900p Optane SSD U.2 in PCIe-U.2 Risers (ZFS SLOG and Metadata vdev)
  • 6 x 14TB SATA 6.0Gb/s 7200RPM - 3.5" - Ultrastar DC HC530 (512e/4Kn)
  • Supermicro AIOM OCP 3.0 - 2x 10GbE SFP+ - Intel XL710-BM2 - PCI-E 3.0 x8 - AOC-ATG-i2SM
  • Supermicro AOM-TPM-9665V-S - Trusted Platform Module - TPM 2.0 - X10 X9 MBs - Server Provisioned - Vertical

Workload

Typical small business stuff. Nothing particularly difficult.

• Nextcloud instance for ~10 employees
  • WordPress site that sees no traffic
  • Node.js web application that services a few dozen internal and external users
    • Webapp connects to Excel running on the windows server host to do some excel processing (ugh, will migrate to a Windows VM)