Help me build my new PC?

Hey guys, new to the site, so I'm going to just go off the format provided in the guidlines.

First a little background: I'm not necissarily new to PC gaming. I've been gaming on my laptop for a couple years now. I have a Lenovo Ideapad with an AMD A-10 4600M APU with an AMD Radeon HD 7660G. I have over 100 games on steam and I'm really loving PC gaming so far. But with this laptop I can only go so far, most games I can play at medium settings for a semi-decent framerate, while games like Battlefield 3 I can only play at the lowest settings with about 20-25 FPS. So long story short, I'm ready for an upgrade.

• Budget. I'd say around 1500, possibly bump it up to 2000 if need be.
  • Where do you live: United States
  • No Retailer preferred, I like using newegg and amazon, but I'm mostly concerned about getting the best deals for the parts.
  • I'm going to need peripherals, definitely.
  • What will you be using your future computer for? Gaming, and I want to emulate using the Dolphin emulator.
  • Do you overclock or want to get into overclocking? Its not a requirement for me but I'm willing to try it out if it will get me better performance.
  • Do you plan on going for custom watercooling now, or in the future? For this build, No.
  • OS. Do you need a new one? Yes, I plan on getting either Windows 7 or 8.1. I want to hear reasons why one is preferred over the other.
  • What kind of settings do you like or what FPS do you want to play at? I want to be able to play most games at Max settings.
  • What resolution will you be playing at? I would like to be able to play games at 1080p.
  • What kind of games do you like to play? I like to play all kinds of games, I'm going to post a link to my steam profile just so you can see what I have, but I'm one of those gamers who likes to play a little bit of everything.
  • What kind of keyboard do you prefer? Mechanical, LED backlit preferred.