HELP! DSLR pick for full conversion!

Hi,
I am a amateur photographer and already own a D3300
However, I am looking to experiment with UV and IR photography

I was considering using my film camera, however i believe that the film that
was made for this purpose is out of production and is extremely hard to develop.

So my question is this, Which camera/camera brand has the best sensor that allows the widest gamete of light through(farthest in both UV and IR)?
In addition, which camera model is the best camera to go with for a conversion? It has to have 1080P video (Preferably 60FPS).
Also, Full frame or DX/ 4/3’s for something like this?
And advice?

I primary want to do astro-photography, but some areal and nature photography as well.

…and i am a college student…

Also, Mirrorless or DSLR? I Sony has some good stuff in the mirror-less space, but Nikon has always been my go-to.

One thing to keep in mind is that Sony unfortunately still have not fixed their star eater problem. It may not may not affect you depending on what exactly you want to do. But its worth researching and considering it if telephotography is one of your primary goals.

https://www.lonelyspeck.com/why-i-no-longer-recommend-sony-cameras-for-astrophotography-an-open-letter-to-sony/

they are, with that exception, excellent cameras.

2 Likes

Oh, yea that could be a problem. I was just thinking of them because their sensors are supposed to have very very good performance.

The biggest thing for this project is that I need a camera with a wide sensor (to accept the widest possible range of IR and UV light) :confused:
Would like a D7200 work? Just looking at it’s sheet, it has a wide ISO and Expeed 4 processor. is that ideal?

You mean dynamic range?

Yes, it has a wide dynamic range/ISO.