Help choosing a machine for college!

Hello all, this is my first post so I apologize if it's in the wrong category or I go off on a tangent.

So here is my situation . My birthday is in a few months and I'm looking into building a pc, I still have a year of high school left and will be attending college the following year. I like to do some gaming, I just don't much currently because I have an awful pc and can't run any new games. I had 2 scenarios worked out in my mind and would like some input.

1. Build a small, quiet desktop rig for between $800 - $1200 (the lower the better as I am a student) doesn't have to be anything amazing, but will need to be able to game and run the programs required of an engineering student, such as auto cad. With this I would also have to buy a laptop for Web surfing, typing, carrying around campus etc.

2. My second option would be to buy a top of the line laptop for everything, both gaming, and 3d modeling.

I guess my question is targeted to any current engineering students in the community, what do you use currently and how does it work out? Preferably I would go with the first option as it would be more powerful and I would get the most for my money. But if having everything on one computer is more practical, then that may be the better option. Thanks for any input

Save the money and wait that extra year.

If you have an utter junk rig and want to upgrade it, build something new.

A lot of stuff is going to happen between today and next year, and when you go to college you can get a much better computer for the same price. Only god knows what can happen now.