Help Choosing a Home Server OS

I’ve looked through several threads and I’m having trouble coming to a conclusion on what the best file serving OS would be for me. Right now I have a pretty powerful machine running FreeNAS, but I’m not using ZFS to it’s full capacity and have no real need to use all it’s enterprise features; nor do I like how FreeNAS VMs work.

What I want my server to do:

• OS Virtualization/Containerization
  • Host/Share files for family (2 real computer users)
  • Backup target for Windows machines
  • Management over serial console, ssh, and/or web interface
  • Ability to burn/rip CDs/DVDs/(Blu-Rays are a plus)
  • Host game servers (Minecraft, The Forest)
  • Backup specific folders to Google’s Coldline Storage
  • Some form of data parity, doesn’t need to be RAID 1-like

My plan is to install ESXi as the base and visualize everything else. Because I’m a student I have Windows Server 2016 available to me for free, but I prefer Unix-type systems.

Specs

Ryzen 7 1700
32 GB non-ECC RAM
2 4TB HDDs
4 2TB HDDs
2 60GB SSDs
1 Blu-Ray RW Drive
1 Quadro NVS 295

Any feedback is appreciated.

have you looked into something like https://www.qubes-os.org/ or Fedora? as it looks like you want a hybrid server workstation based off some of the things you want to do.

I’m not sure what I’m wanting that seems like a workstation. I mainly want some lightweight file server OS running virtualized on top of ESXi at the moment and doing the various other things in separate OS installs on top of ESXi or containers within that file server OS.

Ideally this would headless.

so you want Fedora done via the Kickstart method and an ssh setup. Read this.

Could you explain what makes Fedora a good choice for this?

Proxmox? Just debian with a web interface for QEMU pretty much.

I’ve also heard about kimchi, should work headless.

4 Likes