HDD stuck in read only mode on Ubuntu

Hello, to start off I am not too tech savvy and I have very little to none linux experience.
To sum um the problem is that the laptops HDD is stuck in read only mode, and what I want is to boot into OS and copy some files that are needed for work, but I can’t get past the tty1 screen.
So my sibling has a laptop with Ubuntu 16.04.5 and they used it for years. When they were transferring some files from USB onto a laptop the computer just rebooted in the middle of a transfer. When the laptop boots up it gives options to boot in Ubuntu or into recovery mode. When chosen to boot into OS it gets to something called tty1 screen, and it requires login and password. My sibling forgot the login and only remember the password so no luck there. So after hours on the internet, I manage to set some root login (Idk what it is but the login now is root and I set a new password for it). So now after I put that login and pw it logs in but nothing really happens after that. I have tried to put the ‘‘startx’’ command but it gives error ‘‘unable to connect to X server: connection refused’’ message. I went through a bunch of forum posts about solving this and trying to mount the drive back into read-write mode but I was unsuccessful. Except for 1 time, it actually booted to the desktop but there were no files or icons on the computer and all default folders were empty.
Honestly, after 7 hours of going through the internet and trying every line and solution, I came across I am lost for hope. I just want to go and copy a few work files of the laptop that my sibling rly needs. I force checked all filesystems, I tried unmounting/mounting partition, starting with startx and init5 command and bunch of other stuff with no result.
If someone knows how to help me and has the mental strength to explain to me step by step like I am a child on how to resolve my problem you will have my thanks.

Why is it booting to tty1 the graphical interface is on tty7.