HDD Reliability Seagate Vs Western Digital

I've heard that as far as HDD's go the only brand to go with if you want your hard drive to last a long time is WD... I'm not sure if this is true... I have no experience... If anyone has any great experience with a cheaper HDD brand that would be great as it is right now I can only afford the 1 terabyte Caviar Blue... But I'd like more storage then that...

The only people that will say WD is much more reliable than Seagate are WD fanboys, or old people stuck in the 90's.

I don't have much experience with WD drives, but nearly all my drives have been Seagate. Not a single issue. The warranties between the two are identical (there might be a difference in customer service, but I've never needed it), and Seagate seems to slightly cheaper. Some synthetic benchmarks also indicate Seagate drives are also slightly faster.

If you order a drive online, avoid the Newegg's Eggsaver shipping. I've notice a lot of negative reviews on both WD and Seagate drives about DOA, but identical models on Amazon get much better reviews. I've concluded it's inadequate packaging/handling.

I do have one Toshiba drive, but it's as slow as molasses. It's a 4200RPM laptop drive, Parallel ATA connection, from a Dell Laptop that is ~10 years old. Outside of speed, no issues.

I would avoid the ongoing Seagate HDD's as they are focusing on gaining market share thus the quality will be suffering.

WD digital, get the black caviar ones - they are most reliable over the blues/greens/reds.

Don't pick higher capacity drive than 1TB as the fail rate probability almost doubles with bigger drives.

I would say wd black wd blue and seagate barracuda is the way to go

Blacks will be the fastest and also very reliable, but reds will be the most reliable overall, they are designed for NAS and Home server use, Lower power & heat compsuntion ect...