Hardening a Debian install post-installation

Hi,

I have Debian running on my Thinkpad X200 w/Libreboot.
I currently work as a sysadmin for the local council house and need them to encrypt EVERYTHING.
While I love the idea of doing this, personally when installing Debian, I forgot to set up my own encrypted disks.

My question is:

Can I use some sort of liveUSB to setup full-disk encryption without having to reinstall? I have everything setup the way I want, so uninstalling is kind of TOO deep to reinstall.

If this doesn’t work, can I backup my whole system (settings, programs, etc.), reinstall with full-disk encryption and restore the system to the way it looked before?

Thank you, guys.

EDIT: Best I could manage to do is use ecryptfs-migrate-home for my home folder. Now at least that is encrypted. Will work to see if I can encrypt the rest of my filesystem.

by them im guessing just your laptop? Is this laptop for work? connected to the corporate network? If so, local authorities usually have specific requirements on what is and isn’t allowed and to what standards systems must adhere to. If they arent, and your the sysadmin you might want to look into that as thats a pretty big hole (but thats another topic)

What are the encryption requirement? If its just for data you may be allowed to just encrypt /home which can be done post install. If you’re required to do full disk encryption, realistically the best way is to backup reinstall, unless you want to mess around with recreating the partitions and migrating the data which you might not have space for.

A reinstall may work out best as it will allow you to build your system to all the required security and system requirements, and not just the encryption.

3 Likes

Once you have your challenged addressed, if you are feeling frisky you can use the free DISA SCAP tool and latest STIGs to check out your systems at work to see if there are any other settings the STIGs recommend that you want set as well.

1 Like