Guys I need help, Nvidia 960 gtx fans in Linux, driving me insane (Solved)

Hi guys, i need help with my build, i have a gtx 960 from MSI running in Linux Mint and as soon as i install the Nvidia drivers, fans get insanely loud. they are not quiet under the xserver, only bearable…

I tried all the Xorg.conf stuff with coolbits but the slider has no effect.
The Gpu is running at 37 degrees Cesius, which is not much above room temp…

I’m new to Linux so if anyone could help I would appreciate it.

AMD Ryzen 7 2700X

Linux 4.13.0-43-generic (x86_64)
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia - Cinnamon
NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer : GeForce GTX 960/PCIe/SSE2
Version : 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.59

Thanks in advance…

Hey there - I got almost the same setup as you, difference being R7 1700X but I am running the same Linux Mint version and the same Nvidia drivers. My 4GB GTX960 from EVGA is running butter smooth and silent.

What I would check is the thermal settings in the Nvidia Settings app to check the temp on the GPU. Also, go into PowerMizer and check the PowerMizer settings. Mine is currently running auto which has the card set to ‘Adaptive’. If you have it stuck in ‘Prefer Maximum Performance’ then the card might be behaving according to that.

Hey dude, thanks for replying. No i tried all that in every possible combo… spent hours on this…
Whatever I do there is no effect, fans just spin at max speed…

Anything else I can check?

Thank you.

Still unsolved? Sorry I haven’t replied earlier. What is the kernel version you have? I know that sometimes nVidia drivers will misbehave if you have a kernel that is a bit odd etc. I got 4.11.0-14-generic running on my system.

I did a bit of googling and found some pages on how to control the fans, like this one:

https://setiathome.berkeley.edu/forum_thread.php?id=80538

But I have not tried those myself. YMMV.