Gunpla Building and Weathering tutorial (Now Complete)

Hello and welcome to my Gunpla tutorial/build log. Firstly I would like to state I have only built and weathered two previous models so I'm not an expert, however I've found I have a knack for it and have useful advice to offer.

My model, and how to chose your own

I will be building the 1/100 MG Sinanju

Here is a little guide on how to select which kit is right for you. I don't reccomend starting on an MG unless if you've modeled previously or just have a natural talent for these things.
http://blog.fromjapan.co.jp/en/anime/gundam/how-to-choose-the-right-gundam-model-kit.html

Tools for assembly

Firstly these are the tools you will need for Gunpla assembly, a box cutter kinfe VERY IMPORTANT that it is retractable, you want to use as little length as possible as the pieces will be so small you will likely be cutting towards yourself BE CAREFUL THERE IS NO RUSH, also you will need wire cutters or if you're willing to spend some money on new tools sprue cutters are specifically designed for this task. These are my tools

these are sprue cutters, they're more versatile and easy to work with but again, that's a new tool you need to buy and it isn't necessary. If you don't have any tools to begin with better to get these.

The instructions

Instructions are fairly easy to follow, it's like building Legos, every mold has a letter identifier and each part in the mold is numbered, instructions call for specific parts via letters and numbers. self explanatory

Methodology for removal of sprues

I've chosen a black piece to demonstrate as it is critical to do this correctly with dark pieces. To remove the part from the mold, you want to start by cutting on the thicker part of the plastic, this prevents stress marks on your main part (note, if you opt to get sprue cutters, you can cut about 1mm away from the plastic essentially combining step 1 and 2)