Greetings from another New User - Warning, LONG text ahead

Hi all. I am another new member here (though I’ve perused as a guest for a few months now). Nice to meet you!

The following is a BOOK … I know. I hope some of you might bear with me.

My current machine is a 15-year old custom-built job (Windsurfer PC … if you guys are still around, WOW, this thing LASTED!!!) using a Supermicro X6-DAL-TB2 Server motherboard and two Xeon Nocona processors. While I have never built a PC from the ground up before, I have replaced everything on this current rig except the processors and the motherboard … and I have removed the CPUs and coolers several times over the years for cleaning. So I am not TOTALLY a newbie.

Anyway, it is getting near impossible to source replacement parts for this machine these days. I am beginning to see new memory errors (already replaced the sticks twice over the years), and I really don’t know if it’ll survive another disection, thorough cleaning, and reassembly. So I decided to splurge and try to complete an item on my bucket list … build a PC from scratch.

I have been working on this project for several months … trying to ensure compatibility among all the parts, and trying to order the stuff so that all the sensitive parts are delivered as closely-together as possible, so that I could build and test, and possibly return defective parts within the 30-day window.

I have amassed a small fortune in these parts, most have already been delivered, and some assembly has already begun:

1. Fractal Design Define 7 XL Case - now reconfigured as a server with drives in the back
  2. Gigabyte TRX40 AORUS Xtreme Motherboard
  3. AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3960x
  4. Noctua NH-U14S TR4-SP3 Cooler
  5. Extra Noctua NF-A15 HS-PWM fans to work as intake from the bottom and bottom front of the Case
  6. 128GB HyperX Fury 3200MHz RAM (4 x 32GB Sticks)
  7. EVGA Supernova 1300 G2 1300W Power Supply
  8. EVGA 08G-P4-3081-KR, GeForce RTX 2080 Super Black GPU