Great Quality Headphones?

I am having a difficult time finding a great pair of Headphones, I can't seem to find a pair that isn't going to cost me $300 and its drivers have so much low end I have to use the terrible "Equalizer" on my iPod to adjust to my liking. I maily listen to Metal, but I listen to just about anything, EXCEPT Country, Rap, and Hip-Hop. 

I'm trying to find a nice pair that are going to be clean, crisp, and flat. I want to experience In Flames music (everything before A Sense of Purpose) like I'm listening straight from the Studio Masters. Anyone have any suggestions?

FYI, I'm a FOH Engineer so you can get technical with me, and please don't suggest the POS Dr Dre Beats.

P.S. The In Flames reference was an example, I don't mean to start a In Flames "flame" war. Thanks!

Dt770 pro 80ohm edition

Use spoken word imo its the best ipod equalizer setting

sennheiser, m-audio, steel series, beyerdynamic, denon... many choices all are good, find the ones for you. comfort, sound, wired/wireless, size, cans/buds... i highly recommed anything sennheiser and m-audio... i use them specifically for listening and music production. 

I have a pair of ATH-M50's, they sound amazing. I also mostly listen to Metal, though I also enjoy some Hip Hop. The quality of sound is great, though they do have a bit of a bass to them. Not nearly as much as Beats, so don't worry about that. Build quality is top-notch, even though they're made out of plastic, they feel solid. I also have a pair of Sennheiser HD280's. They look ugly as shit, IMO, but they are very confortable and sound just as good as the M-50's minus the bass. They sound very neutral. They look and feel somewhat cheap, but the soft paddening makes them very comfortable to use. I've also heard some good things about Sony MDR-V6, so check those out as well.