Graphic Design

Hello friends,

I am new to graphic design, but I am trying to pick it up while starting a brand for myself. I have the idea for the logo, but have no idea where to start, I have adobe CC because of photography. What should I use to make the logo, I was thinking I would use illustrator for the SVG support. But I am new to this what should I do where should i start?

Photoshop basic Logo lesson.

Shortcut, Selection and LAYER mastery is the key to Photoshop. NEVER change your pictures! Copy the pic onto a new layer and work on the copy. Draw on top of your picture in a new Layer. Experiment in new Layers and flip the eyeball on/off to see which version you prefer and how experimental Layer #3 will look better.

The Draw tool holds the Line tool if you hold-click on the fly-out triangle in the lower right. LINE can do or Fake 80% of the vector drawing in P-shop.

For real vector drawing one can use the Pen, Shape and Text tools. For the tough stuff I open illustrator too and transfer back and forth between P-shop.
My preference is to do most of the work in Photoshop even though illustrator is the normal way to design vector art.

Short cut list.
A good way to learn shortcuts is to hover over the command you find you use often and read the shortcut. Force yourself to not click the icon after reading it. Then try the keyboard shortcut.

Another way is to practice with this list I made in school because my teacher's list was such a bad 'ransom note' graphic design horror, I couldn't stand to use it. The school started teaching with my list.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1ULPwbr-1KXVnpiRWxEUC1VRTQ

I went to UCONN for graphic design and New Horizons for Adobe certification.

http://www.newhorizons.com/courses-and-certifications/adobe/photoshop

I tried Lynda to learn Adobe Premier video editing and I'm sure the Photoshop class is just as good.

5 Likes