Getting into programming from scratch

Hi there

I always waned to learn a programming language, however since there are a lot choices and I never had a specific project in mind to help me figure out how and where to start, I never really got around doing something about it. I did at some point get introduced to Pascal in school, but again with no specific project in mind I just didn’t know how to get going.
With the release of windows 8 and the massive lack of good apps for the modern UI I thought to myself, maybe I could start by programming some super simple app for win 8. The question is: would be possible for a complete newbie like me to program a windows 8 app? Is there any chance that I could succeed with a project like this, just by the help of beginner-guides and whatever books are available in the internet and so on or does it take years of experience and skills with multiple languages? 

I'm not much of a programmer but if you're looking to make Windows 8 apps that run in the Modern/Metro UI (.appx packages) then the Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows 8 is what you're looking for to start making those. You cannot make desktop apps (.exe) with that SDK, for that you'll want Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows Desktop.

I don't really have any advice for programming itself but I'd just search around for tutorials on making Windows 8 apps in Visual Studio Express 2012 and learn from those.

A lot of languages are derivations of C. Such as C++ and Perl. I found that when I took my C++ introduction course, I went in with experience in markup languages. (HTML, CSS, JavaScript, etc.) Although those languages are not programming languages, knowing them helped me a lot with understanding the functions of C++. When I was programming, I made programs in UNIX, I didn't make apps. 

Thanks for the input.
I already know a bit HTML and CSS I just didn’t think it would help me a hole lot with something like C++.