Return to Level1Techs.com

Getting a Job at NASA/Thanks for being great!

TL;DR: I’m heading into the final round of selections for a candidate to fill a position at Langley Research Center for Linux System Administrator, and I have to thank everyone here for helping push me into expanding my Linux knowledge.

I have dreamed of working for NASA for the past 15 years. I have no degree, nor any certifications. I do have a single term that I spent in the military, but only in a slightly relevant field. Most of my knowledge has been gained through practice and being self-taught (also a bit of reading through man pages).

For the longest time, I focused on Debian-based systems, because that is what was familiar to me. You guys and girls (especially @wendell) helped push me into learning Fedora and branching out into the Red Hat zone of Linux. Learning how to do graphics card passthroughs, and work with pci ids definitely helped as well.

Considering the time between my first interview and the phone call asking for a second, I have a good feeling about getting this. Even if I don’t, I wanted to thank all of you for getting me this far, as I probably would not have even made the first cut without your help.

crosses fingers

53 Likes

I wish you luck on your adventure, sounds like a dream job for some :smile:

4 Likes

Proof that autodidacticism can actually pay off, nice to see and would like to see more examples. Autodidacts are often looked down upon by the “book-worms” Yet some if not most of the worlds best minds in the computing field are autodidacts.

Wish you all the best!

3 Likes

I had no idea there was a word for being self-taught! Thanks for that!

4 Likes

Hope it goes well.

What kind of things have you been learning?

2 Likes