Gaming rig - what's the future proof value?

Hello - I have recently purchased all of my parts for my new gaming computer. This was my first complete build that I have done, and will be assembling it in 2 days (Christmas night fun.) Here are my parts:

CPU: Intel i7 3770k

Motherboard: Asus Maximus V Formula USB 3.0

Graphics Card: EVGA gtx 680 FTW+ 4GB

Memory: G.SKILL Trident X @ 2400mHz

Storage: 2TB Seagate Constellation @ 7200 rpm

Boot Storage: 120GB Intel 330 SSD

PSU: Corsair HX 850w

CPU cooler: Phanteks PH-TC14PE Black

Optical Drive: LG BluRay R/W

Mousepad: Xtrac XXL (it's 36" by 18" - it is amazing)

And for poops and giggles, Case: Fractal Design Define XL Titanium Grey USB 3.0

I plan on gaming heavily, editing video and audio, and lots of programming. I will have it going into a 24" Asus LED 1080p monitor (I plan on getting 2 more later next year) with a Rosewill 9100 mechanical keyboard and a Logitech g600 mouse. This is my first build, and, given the cost - over $2000 - I want it to last as long as possible for my uses. What would you say, on a scale of 1 to 10 - 1 being the lowest - is the longevity and performance of this machine? I realize there are lots of threads here about "Rate my machine" and "How good is this?" but I would really appreicate the feedback. Any suggestions for upgrades, such as additional storage/SSD and HDD, sound cards, or anything else. Thanks for the advice.

-Brennan

1. No just kiddin'. 8 possibly? Don't forget that unlike a console, you can rip parts out of a pc and upgrade them and evolve them. So this will last you 3,4 maybe 5 years but afterwards you can simply upgrade. Couldn't you get the 690? Just a thought.

Well it's hard to tell how future proof a system is, mainly because there is no such thing as future proof as there will always be something better coming!

Though the system looks to be pretty ballin! If you plan on gaming on 3 monitors though, a second GPU would not go a miss.