Return to Level1Techs.com

Gaming headset for Linux

headphones
usb

I’m looking for a USB headset for gaming on Linux. Obviously, I’d like it to work with Linux without a hassle. I’d like it to use it for music as well as games, and come with a decent, but not necessarily great mic. Am I asking for too much?

I guess I could use a standard analog headset, but my PC has a funky combo headphone jack, and I’m worried about compatibility. For instance, my bog standard Apple headset won’t work with it.

0 Likes

My friend, who I set up on linux, recently got this headset: http://a.co/hfnm7hs and I would say the mic quality is amazing. He is an absolute newbie to linux and he never asked me for help to get it working (other than asking how to plug it in). So if you want analog, this might warrant consideration.

0 Likes

Well my funky front panel combo headphone jack makes me nervous about going straight analog. But i guess if I had to, I could plug it into the back panel. I may have to get cable extenders. It also seems a bit pricey, but I like Sennheiser phones and the auto-mute on the mic boom.

0 Likes

I would offer my headset as an option but it’s even more expensive than that one.

0 Likes

You may need an adapter for your combo jack. Something like this (haven’t used this particular one myself):

You can always lookup your motherboard specs and find out exactly what kind of jack it is to make sure you get the correct type of adapter.

1 Like

I have a razer kraken 7.1 USB headset. Its actually preotty nice, though the audio settings could use a tune. However, I have 0 idea how to make the tools in linux work. BUT they do work.

Mic is good, sound is good. Wouldn’t recommend otherwise. And I chose the USB one because they have the DAC in the headset, rather than having line noise via 3.5mm.

0 Likes