Game Engine

Hey guys, Im designing a Game Engine, for a game (Obviously). I was originally going to use Unreal, but I decided it didnt give me what I wanted. Basically its for a Third Person Roleplaying Shooter. Its going to be for PC, but ported to both next gen consoles (Not the WiiU, though, because just ceebs, thats why).

Basically I want to know where to start, I have a decent understanding of CPP, and 4 other guys helping me with the actual code. Only we dont know where to start and where to go.

Everywhere else on the internet just says "Start where you think you should", but hell If I know where that is :P

First person to give me a decent answer gets cookies. But im on the dark side so the cookies will probably be burnt. Sorry. 

In all honesty I've been working on my game engine properly for 5 months. So I don,'t mean to say you are skilled enough for the task I'm just recommending, look before you leap. A game engine might seem simple and fun but if you want much of a game that runs nicely it takes awhile to do. Also porting to game engines isn't nearly as simple as you might think. Consoles have completely different architectures and build protocols and systems etc. Writing an OpenGL or DirectX program or script is nothing near the same as writing an engine. Now maybe you are up for a massive project. Getting a working small engine can take up to a week.. Without any engine UI. Here is just a small list of what you'll need to account for in a game engine. 

Asset management, memory asset management, asset conversion, animation engine, texturing engine, user interface, mathematics engine, lighting engine, shader engine, logic engine, collision detection engine, scripting implementation engine, runtime engine, LOD (level of detail), terrain engine, imaging engine, rendering engine, importing engine, runtime asset management, thread mmanagement. All of this x3 because you want it on PS4 the next Xbox and PC.