Game crashes

It seems my system is crashing on almost everything.  I've had issues with my system crashing from the first day I got it, almost any game crashes quite often although some inexplicably work quite well.  I get this error code quite a lot on several different games; Open gl message, Nvidia timeout exceeded; or some other such thing such as driver crash.  Now I have the latest drivers and the games are fully updated.  It's a fairly high end system and I'm a bit of an amateur so I'm not real sure how to get the most out of my system(which was not cheap).  I just want to be able to enjoy my gaming experience as much as possible but unfortunately my knowledge on how to get the most out of it is limited but I'd absolutely love to hear from you guys on how to get some good performance out of this machine as I'm kind of new to this and trying to learn as much as possible about pc's.  Please be gentle, I am admittedly a former mouth breather console gamer who has recently seen the light and now I'm somewhat addicted to pc gaming and I really want to learn as much as possible about gaming and pc's in general.  Here's the specs.

i73820 Water cooled

680 GTX classified 4gb

16gb ddr3 ram

Edit: I forgot to include the power supply, 1050 watt.  Sorry bout that.

As I said I'm fairly new to all this and for some games my system's performing incredibly.  It just seems to randomly dislike some games.  In particular games it should have no problem whatsoever playing.  For example it absolutely beasts games like The Witcher 2, Crysis, a HEAVILY modded Skyrim, but then it seems to crash when playing non graphically intensive applications and older games like Chronicles of Riddick and Star Wars The Force Unleashed.  Any help or opinions would be much appreciated and I really do appreciate anyone's time.  Thank you all, oh and this is my first time posting on Tek Syndicate soooo yaaaayyyyy!!!