Galaxy S8 - Extra screen/frame protection?

Looks like i may be getting a Galaxy S8. I can replace the HTC Sensation i’ve been using for the past 6 years finally. And it’ll be free with my contract.

I did some research on the phone. Apparently it’s fragile as hell. I have some scratches on my Sensation that i only got the last couple of years. How? I’m not sure. I never dropped it. And from my understanding, Gorilla Glass only gets scratched by rocks/sand. Perhaps something like a knife? Or dropping it on asphalt.

I’ve never had a phone as high end like this before. And want to know what the best possible protection i can get for it is. I don’t want it to feel extra bulky. And i want to make sure the screen never gets scratched. I have a very crappy TPU case on my Sensation. I never knew until recently, but the plastic back plate looks like it started a chemical reaction with the TPU case. It now has dark purple lines all over it. I want to make sure this phone looks as new as the day i got it even years later. I’m very good at taking care of all of my electronics. But this ninja wear/tear got me by surprise on my old phone. I know about Phantom Glass and saw that Linus uses it? So it must be good.

What are my options?

Both can get airborne, settle on tables or countertops to rub against your phones screen when you commit the blasphemy of putting your phone down screen first.

As there is a wide variety of cases and flip-cases on the market, I would sugget you browse Newegg, Amazon or pay your local store a visit. Taking a look in person is the best option in my opinion.

Screen protectors come in several varieties:

1. Glass
  2. “Dry application” plastic foil
  3. “Wet application” plastic foil
  4. Plastic pane
  5. Integrated into the case

Glass and wet-application foil have the best durability and are easy to apply without any bubbles.
Plastic protectors are like their glass counterparts, just made from plastic.