FX8350 Cluster for massive infrastructure simulation

Hi guys. I’m newbie in the professional IT world. I’ve been working as a desktop support lead for 2 years and I am working on transitioning to a sys admin position. That being said I am focusing on getting my MCSA and CCNA certs. I figured what better way to get intimately familiar with administration of a large environment than setting up my own virtual infrastructure at home.

I have gotten pretty familiar with GNS3 and have a good understanding of IOS. The problem at the moment is my 6700k. It isn’t powerful enough to have more than a couple routers and VM’s going at the same time. I hope I can get some advice or suggestions on how to achieve something like this. So I guess to start off here is the gist of what I am wanting to do here.

• Handle 100+ Windows Client VM’s & a mixed bag of 10 servers mostly consisting of Ubuntu Server and Windows Server 2016

• Support GNS3 with 10 Routers and 20 Switches running IOS on a variety of subnets and vlans

• Support a SecurityOnion ELK stack for IDS IPS NSM

• Support a multi forest Active Directory with several Domains and do huge deployments with WDS/MDT and synced deployment shares with DFS-R

• Use Arch Linux on each physical system with six 8350 systems in total

I want to bounce this off anybody who cares to see this post. A couple questions I have off the top of my head would be 1. Am I a masochistic idiot? 2. Is there a better way of going about this? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Do you already have said 6 8350 systems? If you are going to buy them, then I would recommend just going with Ryzen.