FX-8350 vs i5 3570k?

Starting my first build, already purchased a GIGABYTE HD 7970, purely a gaming rig, torn between these CPUs, which do I go for? Ignoring cost, intersted only in performance, longevity/future-proofing etc.

IMHO, You will get more for your dollar with AMD, Nice thing about AMD is they tend to leave there socket set alone so upgrading in the future is a simple cpu swap. INTEL tends to change lots, so upgrading means new motherboard. 

Problem with AMD 8350 is it does tend to run a bit hot. I went ahead and put a liquid cooler in this build. Someone With more Knowledge will have to give you the pros and cons of the INTEL, Never used the cpu, but it is a nice one. 

Thanks for the reply, I'll certainly take what you mention regarding upgrading into account when I make my final decision. I wan't planning on overclocking just yet as this is my first time putting a rig together, probably something I do down the line. If I go down the AMD route, would something like a Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO surfice at stock speed?

The Hyper 212 Evo is perfect for the cause. You can also take a look at the Nzxt Respire T40.

An article about both:

http://www.gamersnexus.net/guides/996-cooler-master-hyper-212-plus-benchmark

"This in mind, coupled with relatively mediocre cooling performance when matched the more recent NZXT products, I'd have to say the Hyper 212 Plus' era of rule is over. Consider the T40 as a better alternative for a few bucks more."

The 8350 will beat the i5 for gaming and is also cheaper.

Both are about even, when you really start to break down the processors they go blow for blow against each other, even in editing, the choice is yours, i personally like the 3570K because 4 Strong cores guarentees more even performance on what your doing compared to 8 weaker cores.

Wrong... Why you intentionaly go full retard? Why?