FX 8350 temps

Hi everyone,

I recently bought a FX 8350 with an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 and H80i cooler.

I am planning on overclocking eventually when all my other upgrades arrive (GPU, PSU, monitor, case etc).

So I thought I'd run a prime95 test at stock (4.0Ghz) and my maximum temp was 55C. 

Which I consider to be too high. (At idle I run 29-35C)

Couple of questions:

Is this a normal temp for the FX 8350 at stock?
As this is already quite high will I be able to overclock? (I am new to OCing so I wont be looking for more than 4.5ish)

Thanks,
Ben. 

try re doing the thermal paste on the processor and if that does not work then it would be per normal 

Im using IC diamond using the 'pea method' so it should be ok even if the whole of the pump copper is not covered (ovbiously i hope it is)

Try reseating the cooler. I would think you'd see load temps more around 45C at stock, but I could be wrong.

Hmmm, i posted the exact same on tomshardware.co.uk and 2 people on there said this was normal for this CPU? I may try reseating it...

What is your ambient room temp?

How are your fans setup? 

Yeah, the 8350 may just run hot.

which programm do u use to show the temperature?

Fans are set up push/pull drawing air from outside the case. Ambient room temp im unsure of, maybe 21C (our central heating says that)

I am using 2: speed fan and Asus II.

Download AMD Overdrive and see what the temps on that program say. Also, http://www.overclock.net/t/1128821/amd-temp-information-and-guide Is a good Idea on how your temps should come up and what they actually mean.

Also, Tomshardware is so violently anti-AMD most of the time I really do not advise using them for questions on AMD.

Huh, well are you sure the fans are directed the right way? I read through a different thread about the your problem and the guy had his in push/push by mistake and was getting similar temps.