Fx 8350 temp trouble

Just bought a new fx 8350 and I'm pretty happy with it, I haven't OC'ed yet and I really want to but I'm concerned about my temps. I have a dark knight 2 heat sink and I'm idling at between 31 and 35C. This is my first build and I'm definitely no hardware expert but I don't think it should be idling so high. After playing crysis 3 for a couple of hours it was at about 60C, which I don't think is bad under load (please correct me if I'm wrong) but I think it should be running cooler than that. Is there a different way to apply thermal paste for HDT heat sinks? I've cleaned and reapplied once and my temps have dropped a little bit but not much. Also I'm using speedfan to monitor temps and MSI afterburner to monitor temps in game, is there anything better that I can get a more accurate read on?

65c is the Thermal Limit of the FX chips, so your temps are getting quite high playing crysis 3, id suggest reseating the heatsink and making sure you didnt apply to much thermal paste.

the above comment is correct, being that you are not using the included heathsink temperatures are a little bit high.. not alarming to be honest and will not cause you problem but you can't overclock it if it is already going around 60 stock

Thanks for the suggestions, I reseated the heatsink once and I did clean it off and reapply thermal paste once, there's definitely not too much, just a very thin layer.

How did you apply the paste? Did you smear it or use the pea/line method? Logan made a video about it, if you spread the paste out before putting the heatsink on your temps are probably caused by air bubbles that formed when you put the heatsink on the CPU.

Check it out to make sure you did it the right way and put on the right amount.

Does your case have enough airflow?