Fundamentals of basic digital security Ubuntu 20.04 LTS

So I’m a novice Ubuntu user and I’m trying to put together a list of things to do that are generally recommended to do to avoid unwanted or suspicious software, viruses, malware, spyware. You get the picture.

A sort of best practice I suppose.

Note that specifically, In this case, I am using Ubuntu 20.04 LTS, though I do have a win 10 VM so this makes much of the content is universal.

Now primarily this is what I’m already doing.

Not using the same password twice.

Don’t download or install, outdated software or if it has very little credibility,

• (Do some research on the repository or software you are downloading)

• I try not to download from repositories that haven’t been updated in the past few months unless I know the repo to be “trustworthy”.

The same applies to WEB links and Emails.

• (You can use the little URL viewer at the bottom of the browser to preview the first landing site)

• Pray it’s not an automatic redirect.

Connect as few apps as possible to those email accounts.

• I Have a separate email system by having an address based on the classification of the use case.

Anti Virus software

• On windows there’s the defender system that is built-in and for the most part, you just make sure it’s enabled on some guy’s computer you built and it will probably be fine.

But what about Linux?

This is why this thread exists.

I’m not really familiar with an “Anti-malware solution”.

Is it even necessary?

I suppose I’m going to be doing some research over the next couple of days but I figured that I may as well start this thread so that I could get an insight into what other people who daily drive Linux do to keep their system tidy.

1 Like

Ubuntu uses apparmor as a security measure.

Couple of pointers (from my perspective) to achieve a clean computer.

What you already listed.

1. Only install software you trust (official repos)