FreeNAS replacement?

Hello! I have been running FreeNAS for a couple of years now but I feel like it has started to limit me on what I can and want to do with it.

People say that a NAS should be just a NAS but I disagree. I would like to be able to run docker, maybe a VM or two, have support for “obscure” hardware like FusionIO. I never really liked jails and the networking stack has been problematic for me. Heck, even L1T switched from FreeNAS to Fedora to have more options.

I am looking for something Linux based, probably not very heavily customized so that I can install device drivers and commonly used software.

An HTML GUI is imperative. I have seen posts about common Linux distros with Ansible or Webmin being used as FreeNAS replacements or others switching to OpenMediaVault.

Of course I need ZFS support and I would really like encryption. I do have Geli encryption on my FreeNAS pool right now that I might be able to remove while keeping the data, but I do not know if I will be able to re-encrypt everything without wiping the data. Any advice on this will be really helpful.

At last, I would very much like some sort of ZFS GUI management as I don’t completely trust myself with ZFS and CLI but I know this is probably a stretch.

Are you running something like this? Do you have any advice/recommendations for me?

Have you played around with unraid yet?

I would prefer FOSS but I suppose I will have a look.

1 Like

Well Ubuntu 19.10 is going to roll with zfs on root. Probably just the ticket for what you want?

I just think unraid is a little more streamlined and that makes it worth it to me. I prefer something that saves me time and effort over something more free.

How about adding rather than replacing? I mean FreeNAS does the storage part of what you want, just put another box next to it and have it run VMs and stuff?

So far I haven’t seen any GUI apart from the webGUI on FreeNAS. But I haven’t really searched for it either, so …

2 Likes