Fixing Haswell and Ivy Bridge CPU temps: IHS removal

This guy removes the top casing of the uProcessor and applies this own thermal paste onto the chip.

I'm not a hardware expert and I would like someone to tell me an opinion reguarding his temperature "fixing" method. Would anyone try this at home, or is he nuts?

Thanks!

It's risky, but the only way to overcome the shoddy design of current intel CPUs that make them run so hot, at least as far as I know.

It's called delidding; it's rather simple - I will be replacing the TIM on my 3770k with CoolLaboratory Liquid Ultra in a few weeks in preparation for watercooling. Actually, I may even go heatsinkless on the CPU die, and simply use the EK mounting system to mount my waterblock directly on the die.

I didn't even know you could do that, but I'm sure the temps would be great!

Magic! Seriously thinking about delidding myself, doesn't seem to hard. Would bring down my folding temps by quite a bit. If only I had some good TIM.

10 bucks for MX4, just make sure you do a good paste job

Use DE razor blades instead of x-acto blades. They are much thinner and sharper and allow you to get between the IHS and PCB without an angle that may damage the PCB and short out your chip. Tape up the other side of the blade to not cut yourself. 

It is a valid option, but it is risky. If you mess up you lose you cpu. If you are careful you will get a large improvement in temperature.

A friend of mine is a metal machineist - We talked about making a solid copper replacement of the Intel heat spreader - but would this work better and would it be worth it?