First time PC builder seeking advice

Hello Tek Syndicate,

My name is Matteo and I have just recently built my own PC for the first time over the new year period.  I stumbled onto Tek Syndicate while looking up videos on YouTube on how to build PC's and what parts to buy, and I can say that so far I am glad that I found this website/community.  I have always had an interest in electronics, computers and video games (I have been gaming since a very young age) but have never been able to pursue these interests until recently.  As this is my first build I would like to take this opportunity to ask about any advice you might have on taking care of my computer, not just the physical cleaning but also file management, the proper use of programs like CCleaner, and any other ways that could extend the life and operation of my machine.  Any and all advice would be appreciated.

Thank you all in advance :)

Awesome, congrats on joining the amazing world of the PC Master Race! Actually I hate that title, but welcome anyway.

Firstly as far as hardware goes, the most popular method and disk setup is to have a smaller cheaper ssd for your OS, then a larger HDD for file and game storage. This makes boot and program load times super fast. I can ghly encourage you to do this if you weren't planning to because it also makes it extremely easy to recover files that may have been lost in the event of any OS failure or virus.

On the note of viruses and virus protection: don't do it. The best virus protection is in your head, and if you can avoid it, then you'll have a much better time. Wendell had a great quote in the latest inbox.exe where he mentions that definition based antivirus has been obsolete for a long time. If you can be smart and conscious about what you do and what you install, that's the best way to go. If you think you'll still need it, then I would recommend running scans occasionally with malware bytes every now and then.