First mechanical keyboard, need advice

So I've been eyeing this particular product for a while:

https://pcpartpicker.com/part/thermaltake-keyboard-kbpzxklblus01

I've been thinking of getting the tenkeyless version with Brown switches.

I've never used a mechanical keyboard before and I'm used to the keys of a MacBook. The reason I'm making this post is to get advice on pretty much everything about mechanical keyboards:

Is this a good product?
Should I go for brown or blue or red etc.?
What are the pros/cons of a TKL model vs a standard one?

Thanks in advance

Personally i am not a fan of the thermaltake keyboards they feel kinda cheap, as far as blue vs red vs brown i really tend to like brown as they are sort of the best of both in one. But depending on your usage just pick the ones you like more.

Blue= typing alottt
red= gaming 24/7 no typing ;p
brown= both n awesomely at that;p

For the TKL benefits vs standards cant really tell cause I've always used a tkl form factor and i love it except for the old school ibm keyboards which are perfect but not a gaming keyboard;p

i would really recommend you just save up and buy either the rapid i coolermaster which i own and its amazing for tkl or go with corsair k90 and up or ducky shine, wasd .

This site should help you a lot.
https://www.reddit.com/r/MechanicalKeyboards/wiki/buying_guide

1 Like

The advantage of TKL over full size is more room on your desk. The disadvantage is you lose the numpad it you use that for anything.

Red Switches are linear, there is no tactile feedback as you press them this makes then good for fast double tapping in games and such, but some dislike them for typing as they give no feedback as to when the key actuates only when you bottom out. So for typists who like to type light and fast they can miss letters as the actuation point is halfway down the key press.