First Comp Sci class

So I am halfway through my first computer science class in college. The class is C++ and I have an A in it right now but I feel like I have no idea what is going on. We are doing functions right now and are about to start arrays but I can't do any of the lab work without using a tutorial. I have no prior programming experience either. Is this normal. I will say I have the worst teacher ever. He gave his first lecture after the midterm. I just don't know when this is going to sink in or if it ever will. Is anyone else in the same boat or know tricks to get this stuff to sink in better?

1 Like

Getting good at programming usually comes with experience. Learning how all of this stuff works and how to go about using it is the first step. Getting experience actually using these things will really drive it home as to how to really use it properly. I have been working a coding job for almost a year (started coding like 2-3 years ago) and I am still learning things on a regular basis. I have to ask people stuff most days, but I am much more knowledgeable now than I was when I started and am even able to help out some of the new folks now. Programming is one of those things that often takes years to get decent at.

2 Likes

I agree with @1920.1080p.1280.720p, only way to git gud at programming is to practice.

Be creative, come up with interesting problems to solve and put what you've learned into use.

Learning about arrays? COOL. Write a program that fills a set range in an array with a number. Next, write a program that fills "shapes" in a 3 dimensional array. Write a program that does binary operations on those shapes. Sound stupid? Well, this would be pretty usefull for putting down shapes and filling spaces in minecraft maps. No matter how stupid the math or puzzle problem sound, you can always find a way to put it into practical use.