Fedora 26, Ryzen 7 1700, GTX 1070

Hello,

I’m trying to install Fedora in my new Ryzen build. I can get into the live usb but it’s very slow and unusable. I’m very new to this so I have no idea how to start troubleshooting.

The specs are:
Ryzen 1700
Asrock x370 motherboard
MSI GTX 1070
Corsair LPX 3000mhz 16gb (2x8)

Thanks!

It hangs up on this screen for about 5 minutes when booting.

You may have to remove gtx 1070 and get through the install process and install proprietary nvidia drivers then shutdown. Install 1070 and crank it back up.

No need to remove the gpu, at grub, select the kernel and press e, then add ‘nomodeset’ to the end of the line (seperated with space, no quotes) line with
’stuff quiet splash something’
press ctrl-x

2 Likes

Thank you both for the reply. I will give it a try right now.

I got the live USB working by booting into basic graphics mode.

It’s installing to my SSD right now. Making progress!

1 Like

Alright I’m in and it boots fine.

Thanks again. Now for the drivers for the 1070 I’m seeing conflicting info on Google. Do you guys have a recommended guide or am I thinking about this to much and is just as simple as installing the drivers.

Thanks

Maybe this guide?

Will this work???

Hold on, will write a step by step guide in a few mins, busy.
Meanwhile update everything

Thank you! I will get everything updated.

Actually that link is pretty much the same as what i’ve been doing, but to make life easier, after step

2.6.4 Remove xorg-x11-drv-nouveau

press ctrl-alt-f2 to open another TTY, login
$ sudo systemctl stop gdm
(might have to ctrl-alt-f2 again)
$ cd Downloads
$ sudo ./NV
(just press tab & enter)

When the install finishes, run
$ sudo dracut -f && reboot

Done.

Done!

Thank you again. It’s awesome to be part of this community!

2 Likes