Fanless CPU cooler?

I’m considering the Zalman FX70 fanless CPU cooler and I’m curious what people think about whether this could potentially cause a bottleneck in my CPU performance.

The official specs rate this cooler for up to a TDP of 95w. I’m currently running an i5-4670k at stock speeds (3.4 ghz) but will be upgrading soon to an i7-4790k 4.0ghz chip which is 91w TDP. I’m also planning on upgrading my GPU from a gtx 770 to a 1080 Ti soon. Obviously this is not a silent HTPC build or anything, it’s meant for performance - but, I don’t really overclock or anything like that.

I would go with the nofan cr-95c but it won’t fit in my case (bitfenix prodigy).

Thoughts on this? Do you think it will result in throttling at heavy loads? I primarily stress my CPU in gaming - although I work in IT, it’s not really cpu-intensive much of the time (unless you count 100 browser tabs).

If the consensus is that this is non-ideal, I’m open to alternative cooler suggestions. Or I can just stick with my current hyper 212, although cutting down on noise would be nice. Bear in mind that if running an air cooler, I only have 1 CPU fan header.

In my experience the big noctuas have the best balance of being almost silent when possible and highly efficient when necessary. Since you will be running a high end GPU the CPU cooling solution won’t matter that much in terms of noise.

6 Likes

I mean even that would be fine if you’re not after crazy OCs. Replacing the fan on it could be enough. The cooler design itself is actually extremely good despite the low price but the fan is a bit noisy at least at higher RPMs.

However as @noenken said, your GPU will be louder no matter what so it is a bit moot. The big noctuas or BeQuiets are the way to go for air cooling if you want performance and good acoustics

1 Like