Fairly new to Metal, tips on who to listen to?

Hey guys, I've been a musician for quite a while now but never truly delved into metal past the mainstream stuff.

I've been listening to it more and more recently and want to get into expanding my collection, so any good bands you guys can reccomend? 

It might not be what you're looking for, but listening can't harm anyone :)

Try out Machinae Supremacy, Usually into their SiG/Metal.  

I think we need a little more information on your taste. Since metal isn't just... metal.

I tried to help out another guy the other week, almost turned into an argument, I didn't understand the kind of metal he wanted to listen to. He just described it as "fast", it had to be fast. It worked out in the end, but I went through a lot of genres to pin-point what he actually wanted.

"Photosphere", by Crossfaith - Japanese electronicore.

"Tornado of Souls", by Megadeth - Thrash.

"Stone the Crow", by Down - Sludge/southern.

"Cemetery Gates", by Pantera - Power groove.

"Youth Gone Wild", by Skid Row - Hair metal.

"Prometheus", by Symphony X - Progessive.

Honestly, I can't promise you will like any of them.

Don't miss out on Tool and Dir En Grey.

There are many genres of metal post a link of what you like. Then from that we can recommend some bands.

Something on the lines of Amon Amarth, ghOst, Kalmah?

I like melodic death metal, if that helps... 

I had a funny feeling you would say that, but I didn't include any melodic death metal.

DevilDriver

Arch Enemy

Scar Symmetry ("Holographic Universe" album is the best one to try)

The Agonist

Children of Bodom

Ensiferum

In Flames

Let me know what you think. Obviously, there may be songs or albums you dislike. Normally, these bands capture the interest of people. If you want specific songs, I will recommend some. However, the list can just stretch across the entire discography. That's not to say I like every song by each of these bands.