Epyc Naples 32 core or Rome 12-16 core

Hey There, decided to stop lurking in my Lerkim in hopes you guys can point out any gotcha’s on a CPU purchase.

I’m building a data server that will moving a lot of data quickly so i need PCI lanes. I could possibly use Threadripper but i may run into memory limitations (officially) in the future. I will admit that I’m new to server hardware so i could be missing some obvious things.

At this point this server is a trial it looks like a 12 or 16 core Rome (7302p) would do the job 16 core may be better for memory bandwidth then a Rome (7272) 12 core but the 12 core is better for the budget :slight_smile:

My supplier doesn’t seem to like AMD servers/parts they stock lots of Intel and in recent times have gotten rid of most of their AMD server parts. When i asked them about bringing stuff in they have very politely avoided the question. On the plus side they have offered me a very attractive price on a Epyc 7551 32 core that they have on the shelf which is cheaper then any 7272 that i have found online.

I have already been doing a bit of research it seems the main difference is memory speed, core speed, and L3 cache. It seems like # of cores on a Naples 32 core would overcome the core speed difference on multi-threaded workloads vs a 16 core and 12 core Rome. Obviously single threaded workloads may suffer a bit.

Is there anything else i should watch out for?
Can Naples RAM run any faster then 2666?

Appreciate any help you can provide.
dfi

Processor isn’t the only thing to consider, especially if you plan on moving a lot of data. So, what else is in your system? What’s the path the data is flowing: internal/external, if external, via what link (LAN network speeds, etc) as your data will only move as slow/fast as the slowest device in the link allows.

Totally agree that the processor is only 1 part of the puzzle.