Enlighten an AMD/ATI newbie

I have been using Nvidia cards since 2002, so I kinda know the pros and cons for gaming, video rendering, etc, with these cards.

I had recently sold my GTX 660Ti in hopes of upgrading to a GTX 970 but like some all pokemon lurking in the grass, a wild R9 390 appears!

With an identical price to the GTX 970, and on paper, seems to outshine the GTX 970, I have started to contemplate whether to switch to AMD (at least for this generation of cards).

But there are a couple of things I need to clear out that not even the wise Google can answer for me (or I haven't looked hard enough).

First, how is OpenCL compared to CUDA in rendering videos in After Effects or Premiere Pro.

And second, games that do use GPU Physx, since I am using an AMD card, will all physics now be CPU based?

Just a couple of things I want to clear out before going for the R9 390 by the end of the month...

Thanks!

OpenCL/OpenGL is much more widely adopted as apposed to CUDA. Strictly because it's proprietary and exclusive to Nvidia. and will ONLY work with Nvidia products. OpenCL/OpenGL works with everything, Intel, AMD, Apple, Linux, Windows and is very portable. mind you there's no guarantee that your code will work, effort must be put on your part to make something work. but to keep it short, OpenCL/OpenGL is much more open, CUDA isn't. also, Nvidia cards aren't good with OpenCL/OpenGL like AMD cards are. AMD has heavily invested onto OpenCL/OpenGL. AMD is very generous when it comes to alot of things. almost to the point where you can argue they are most likely losing money giving you the stuff they give you with their GPUs.