Engineering and Patenting an Engine

Hey people.

Before I start with the subject I will put 3 important disclaimers ahead.

• I am not an engineer
  • I do not have an engineering diploma
  • I do not have any prior experience in the field

If you are bothered by that and wish to slam me for it, you can completely skip this post.

With that out of the way, let’s start.

I’ve designed (not engineered) a whole new internal combustion engine. In theory it has many advantages over the existing int. comb. engines, mainly it’s efficiency, reliability and form factor. The issue is I do not know how to proceed.

As I’ve stated earlier I am not an engineer and I can’t test any of the claims. I don’t have any funding for engineering, building and testing it either. Without that, I can’t try and patent it.

I’ve been thinking of approaching the “big brand names” in the industry, to ask for their help in engineering and testing it.
The thing I’m afraid of is that if I do, and if my idea works as intended, it will just get stolen and patented by them.

Do you have any insight on the “industry process” or suggestions on how I should proceed?

=====================================================
Replying to some comments / questions before they are posted:

C: Automakers are spending billions of dollars on engine R&D, you can’t compete with that.
R: Don’t belittle and kill the little guy and his ideas, eh? If researched properly they could change the world.

Q: Have you calculated/tested [insert the equation/theorem here] in your engine? How could you know that it works.
A: I haven’t and I don’t. As I’ve stated above.

Q: Can you share some more specifics on the engine design?
A: Sorry, but no, for obvious reasons.

Get a design patent and a utility patent. Worry about if it will work later.

At least, this is what I assume all the big companies do.

Also make sure that your design does not interfere with anyone’s patent.

3 Likes