Empire development project

Empire is a positively ancient game developed in the 60s apparently and pushed forwards across the years.

public domain Empire as it exists today

Classic Empire

I started playing a commercial version back in the 80s, and still play it to this day. More or less this.

A commercial version I have played for years

I would like to build a completely modern version from scratch. Using C++ / C# OOP, classes for everything, database game store, table driven odds and properties tables. Maybe using a modern hex cell map.

The game is quite addictive as it stands, I do not envision adding the modern visual trappings. This is more chess than role play.

Testing the interest in working on something like this as an open source project. Anyone out there interested in participating in a role in developing a simple (by modern standards) yet fascinating pure strategy game?

2 Likes

Here’s the thing about game development…
In your mind you have X work to do.
Now double that, and you will actually get but a fraction of what you actually have to do.

Strategy is one of the most difficult genres to program, completely opposite to the platformers. That’s why you see a billion low effort platformers on steam and not really much strategy games. It takes time, work, testing, work, work and some extra work.

Not trying to discourage you. Just want to make sure you know what your getting yourself into.

Why don’t you use one of the free game engines available? Something like Unity or even Game Maker Studio will effectively cover most of the basics for you. You can get an entire hex based systems on the asset stores, that will also do the work on the hex grid for you.

My point being have you explored all available options? Starting from scratch could be very very very painful, slow and disheartening…

1 Like

Indeed to all your points. A quick story.