Embedded full stack web server shoehorning fun!

FIrst, apologies, this is just such an interesting experience I need to vent somewhere or go crazy :smiley: I hope someone will find this piece entertaining or even perhaps helpful.

O.k. so I work as a contractor within embedded systems and web. Latest job started about three months ago, when one of the higher uppers managed to have a brilliant idea; They want to implement a web server management interface on The Product™.

Now, The Product™ is a highly specialized embedded system, used in an industry setting. After some back and forth on the subject, here are the basic specifications:

• The Product™ is developed in C exclusively
  • The webserver must be implemented as a single threaded task
  • There is a TCP/IP stack implemented
  • The hardware is tiny and is an integrated SoC with a few ports
  • Available storage is 2 MB
  • Available RAM is 256 kb, of which 100 kb is already used
  • NO Open Source Software allowed, due to conservative company ideas
  • Wants support for AJAX and responsive web design
  • The Product™ will not have Internet access of any kind
  • Should allow for web interface device control
  • Should be compliant with: HTML5, CSS3, ECMAScript 6, HTTP(S), SOAP
  • Needs to support at least three browsers (Firefox, Chrome, Edge)

… And the best part, I was originally supposed to get a front-end developer to help me, but he quit 1 week before I started and they have yet to find a new one. Of course! :grin:

So, I have to write a full stack http server from the ground up that does a lot of heavy string parsing in C, make all of that work, then switch to JavaScript, and make the entire interface fit in like 50-60 kb of usable memory, with the assistance of perhaps 1 MB of flash storage. And no Internet Access! Wow. Just… WOW.