Eight Year Old 240mm Coolit ECO A.L.C. Keeps Going... (Ryzen Upgrade)

coolit_eco-alc240
I’m thoroughly impressed with the service life of my first AIO liquid cooler and felt like I should write about it somewhere. This Coolit ECO with the big 2400mm radiator was purchased roughly around 2009-2010. Now it’s cooling my new Ryzen 1700X.

SOCKET ISSUE: With the new AM4 socket I resorted to zip ties for mounting the cpu block.

Stable_OC-Prime95

PEFORMANCE: During stability tests the limitations of this old liquid cooler with 1/4 tubes became evident. I could get my 1700X stable at 4.075 ghz within the safe voltage range, however the cooler couldn’t keep up. Normal use worked fine, but when I ran Prime95 the cpu would crash from heat around the 20 minute mark(the sensor was only reading 74-75 C, so I didn’t stop the test myself). This kind of stability is important because I’m a video editor. Crashing during big renders would be bad.

Anyway, after lots of testing I confirmed a flat 4.00 ghz is the best this old cooler can handle. The CPU temp peaked at 70 C during a 45 minute stress test with Prime95. Also, my 240mm radiator is running a push-pull setup with coolmaster fans.

OTHER THOUGHTS:
Do AIO liquid coolers usually last this long? My Coolit has had plenty of physical abuse. For the first five years I hung it outside of the tower case for better cooling. If your AIO is older? I’d love to know.

Also, it’s time to start thinking about a upgrade with a real open loop system. I thought about re-using the radiator on this thing, but it’s aluminum and the fittings are 1/4 barbs. Unless I used a matching aluminum block, there would be corrosion issues from what I read. Starting fresh with something like Swiftech seems like the smart move.

Thanks for reading and let me know what you think…

-CarryTrainer.Editor

4 Likes

That is impressive.